Wonky.Blog

Buy Yogi albums!

half-pint demigod (2005)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Salve EP (2003)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Any Raw Flesh? (2001)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Sister Sites:
HalfZaftig.com

Wonky-Records.com

MySpace

Latest Twitter Updates


    The whole Twitter feed
    26 July 2008
    In Which I Froth Endlessly At The Keyboard
    I've been to Maine and back in the last week. I got bumped up to first class for part of the trip, the first time I've ever done that. It was pretty awesome, I have to say. Let's just say I took advantage of the free drinks. Oh yes, I did.

    Good gravy, soon it will be August, and that's only two months away from October, my favorite month of the year. So while it's really weird how fast 2008 has been flying by (time going fast! less time on the planet for me!), I can't say as I'll miss summer time. I don't really love the summer. Should summer be Capitalized? I forget. Anyway, hurry on Autumn, I like you and your cloudy days and need for sweaters.

    If I didn't mention it before, I should mention now that I bailed out of that screenwriting class at SFI after a few sessions. I just decided that, while the lectures were interesting, I wasn't getting much new out of it. I am generally bad at sitting in classes, have been since high school ended (oh so many long years ago). That's a big part of the reason I never finished college; I just couldn't sit there and pretend to be interested in stuff that didn't interest me. Couldn't then and can't do it now.

    I AM back at the Freehold taking their "Step 2" acting class. My experience in their "Step 1" was... interesting, to say the least. I would say unsatisfactory, but my belief was (and has since been verified) that it had not so much anything to do with Freehold or their curriculum, but more to do with the instructor. This new class instructor has inspired much more confidence. She's actually something of a Seattle theater luminary, too - although my sister the LA Theater Queen has been upset with some of my reports of what we're doing in class. I have to say I'm enjoying it, but I take all instruction in the arts with grains of salt. I take what makes sense to me, and discard that which does not. It's been fun, and I like the new challenges presented.

    I am still working out like a fiend. I ran myself into a sprained hip in June, and that hurt a lot, but is slowly mending. I have lost 25 lbs since January. I have more than that left to go. Too bad I waited until I was a late-30-something to finally get some reasonable eating habits. It's a lot harder taking it off than putting it on in the first place.

    Blerf, what else? There is a gig in Kirkland with the Grunge guys a week from tomorrow at the Shark Club. Two sets, the first time we've played a multi-set gig in five years, at least. This will be possibly the last show with founding member Scotty Wiggin on guitar. He's got too many scheduling conflicts with bands he's in that actually make money to continue on with us. I was thinking that might be it for the band (again), but the scenario of me switching from bass to guitar and bringing in HZ bassist Lizzy Daymont was thought of, and now it looks as if that's going to happen. That means that the talent level in the bass chair has just gotten exponentially higher,  and it also means I have to learn all these songs again on a different instrument. SIGH. There's apparently going to be another Shark show on December 6, but I don't know if it's contingent on us doing well crowd-wise next week.

    As for HZ, we are in rehearse/write mode, as I haven't been bothering to look for new gigs for us. Don't get me wrong, we love playing for Hodgy (our audience of one), but the gigs we're offered most of our folks can't make it out to (weeknight slots after midnight). It's kinda ironic that now that I can play this stuff live better than I've ever been able to, there's really no place locally for us to play. Catch-22 I believe they call this. So: does HZ have any live shows coming up? No. Am I looking for any? No. Would we play somewhere if an opportunity came up? We'd love to, but we're all feeling a bit tired of the Tuesday night 1 AM sets. Luckily, Pete and Lizzy don't have to rely on me to get their live ya-yas out, they've got upcoming shows with Charlie Drown, and Pete is in a weekend warrior band now, and Lizzy is filling in on bass for a while with Late September Dogs, and the Grunge thing. They're busy kids, those two.

    So, I've just been thinking about new writing. And there IS a new project gestating, a means to challenge myself. This November 9th I turn 39 years old, which means I'll be entering my 40th year. I'm going to challenge myself to post a new song on MySpace once a week during said 40th year. Yes, I'm saying that I want to "release" 52 new songs from this November the 9 to next year's November the 9, when I will officially no longer be a 30-something. Most likely the majority of these will be things I record myself at home. Some of them will be new HZ songs, I imagine with new recordings of us playing them, so those will likely be put together elsewhere, possibly with Darin as in the past. Some of the things I've been writing lately don't sound like "band" songs, and I think what I mean by that will become clearer to you when you actually hear them. But HZ and I are working on new tunes now, and I expect they will be included in the tally of 52. Whether there will be any collected official "releases" of these tracks at the end of the year, either "solo" or HZ, I can't tell you right yet. It seems likely that the songs will end up available in the various digital stores at the very least. Maybe I'll poll those of you who are interested about your favorites at the end of the process, and press up a CD of the year's Greatest Hits. I don't know. What I do know is I want to work fast and often, and not allow myself to overthink as I do the work. I've already started writing, as I've said, but I do NOT have 52 songs ready as yet, not even close. My hope is that at least a couple will be things that literally get written and made the same week I post them, but I AM working now to give myself some sort of cushion before I start posting the tracks. It's scary enough thinking about trying something like this, I need to give myself some breathing room.

    I'm thinking I'll post the new tracks every Sunday night, November 9 conveniently falling on Sunday this year.

    Now that I've written this down and posted it in a public forum, I guess I have to do it.

    Uh-oh.

    I guess wait and see what happens this November, eh? I'm just as curious to find out as you may be.
    12:40 AM Comment at the .Forum


    Previous Recent Entries
    Current .Blog
    Newest Entry
    Older Entries


    Old School .Blog
    July 2004
    June 2004
    May 2004
    April 2004
    March 2004
    February 2004
    January 2004
    December 2003
    November 2003
    October 2003
    September 2003
    August 2003
    July 2003
    June 2003
    May 2003
    April 2003
    March 2003
    February 2003


    Blogalicious
    Bryan Beller
    Lefsetz
    An Altruist's Blog
    katy B skary
    Ian, enharmonic
    Darin DiPietro
    B Naz
    trocadero
    known johnson
    que sera sera
    pissshiver
    lookout for hope
    Celebrity Blogger
    Rabbit
    Kitten
    Andrew Sullivan
    Slog
    Huff Post
    Arizona Bay


    Linkonia
    Keneally Saves
    Crooked Sixpence
    TROOP!
    Salon
    Oh, You Are Sick
    Frank
    atticus wolrab
    You Rebel Scum
    Andre LaFosse
    Force Of Nature
    Bumpcity
    Lizzy Daymont
    Pete Johnston
    1 + 1 = 2
    Diaryland
    my profile
    shill for me
    contact