Wonky.Blog

Buy Yogi albums!

half-pint demigod (2005)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Salve EP (2003)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Any Raw Flesh? (2001)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Sister Sites:
HalfZaftig.com

Wonky-Records.com

MySpace

Latest Twitter Updates


    The whole Twitter feed
    19 September 2007
    Ride The S.L.U.T.
    This story is classic Seattle. I've got to get one of those T-shirts.
    4:19 AM Comment at the .Forum


    13 September 2007
    Catchup
    Somehow two weeks have gone by without me writing much over here. A lot of that time has been spent getting pre-orders for the new Half Zaftig out the door. It takes a long time to get that many packages mailed! Shirts folded, CD's signed, stickers included.

    In between I've been continuing the day job, and going to the doctor to try and figure out this weird "thing" that's going on with me. I don't really want to go into detail in this forum, except to say that nobody really knows what's up. I'm better now than I was, but I can't tell if the "better" came from treatment (I was on antibiotics for 10 days), or if I'm just healing up on my own. I just want to feel normal, is all, is that so WRONG?

    Looks like the band has two shows in a row over the last weekend in October, but I still have yet to get a confirmation on one. We are definitely playing in Kenmore (essentially north Seattle) on October 27 at the Lakepointe. We may have a show in Tacoma the night before.

    I have a session with Chris G Sunday at London Bridge to get guitars done on a track. As soon as I finish typing this I am going to practice for that.

    In three weeks I get a week's vacation, as is quickly becoming an annual tradition. I can't WAIT.

    It's nice to finish up a project, but it's even more amazing to get such a fantastic response to the work. I'm smiling a lot these days.

    4:08 PM Comment at the .Forum


    13 September 2007
    Commercial Break
    Hello, beautiful people! Notes, comments, and posts continue to come in to us as folks are now receiving their pre-orders of the new album, Life Like Luster. We're extremely gratified to see that thus far, EVERYONE seems to be really happy with the new music - though I suppose if someone out there got the new album and really hated it, they might not be very inclined to write us and tell us that. Regardless, please let me express a heartfelt THANK YOU on behalf of the band for all of your outrageous praise and compliments. The response has been fantastic.

    Obviously, the pre-order specials are still running over at the Wonky Records Online Store, which processes payments via Paypal. The $20 deal gets you the Life Like Luster CD, the bonus B-sides disc The Eyes Have It: B-Sides, and your choice of one of the new Life Like Luster T-shirts (Men's or Women's styles). Or, you can just get the CD's for $10.

    Now, if you don't use or like Paypal, there ARE other options to get the new album. Life Like Luster is now available for pre-order at Amazon.com. They will ship to arrive right around the "official" release date of September 25th.

    OR, you can buy the album NOW at CD BABY, a fantastic online store featuring indie music that ships world-wide. Obviously, you can't get the bonus B-Sides disc from Amazon or CD Baby, as we're only shipping that from our Web site, and we'll have it for sale at live shows.

    And yes, for you "I only buy digital files" folks, the album WILL be on the iTunes store and all of the other leading digital services eventually. We don't have any control as to when the digital versions will show up, but rest assured they will be there.

    ***

    Some folks have asked how they can help get the word out about the new album. Well, next time you're bored at work and have no more sites to surf, maybe you'd consider posting a review at the Amazon and CD Baby listings? Both of those vendors have means for you to post a review/comment if you like. It doesn't have to be a huge literary discourse - but I'll tell you, those positive reviews in such places really do help us convince people who are on the fence to check us out. We've started a thread at our message board, where I've been cutting and pasting comments from various folks if you want to see what people are saying. Comments like these are just fine for Amazon and CD Baby reviews. Here's a few excerpts of what people have written us:

    "This album is the real sh*t. This album brings it and owns it. It's a very nice balance of accessibility and what the f**k, so I'm able to grab a hold of it right away but I know it's going to be many listens before I've got this whole thing figured out."

    "This album sh*ts everything put out this year, and by a freakin' mile! Awesome tunes, awesome production... just pure awesomeness."

    "Love it love it love it. Did I mention I love it?"

    "What a GREAT creation this is! Many congratulations to Half Zaftig on a beautiful piece of work."

    "Now, I have the whole thing, and, man, what an album. Congratulations to you and your pals, I really like very much your music and your spirit. It is simple: I just erased my whole Ipod, and only your album is in. I may sound a little bit too ecstatic and enthusiasm, but hey, I was just in a blackhole, that is to say that I was looking for something to hear that shakes my neurons and my fingers, giving me the envy to play. It is done, and thanks a lot."

    "Just wanted to say that I think the new CD really sounds great.  And, I do mean great.  I have been listening to rock music for almost 50 years, and believe I have a pretty good idea of what is fresh and good, and what isn't."


    Anyway. You get the idea.

    So here are happy links if you feel like posting a review of Life Like Luster:
    Amazon.com
    CD BABY

    ***

    Oh yes! We have some new colors and sizes for the new Life Like Luster wearables! The new shirts have been successful beyond our expectations, and we've already had to re-order our supply. In fact, we're unfortunately ALREADY SOLD OUT of some the second order of stuff, so you'll notice that certain shirt designs in certain color/size combinations aren't in stock right now. There will be yet another re-order in a couple of weeks.

    BUT! We do have some brand-new color possibilities for the two shirt designs that weren't previously available. Both shirts are now available in violet and kelly green (which is emerald green, I guess). In addition, the LONG-SLEEVE band shirts are now availble in more sizes (we used to just have XL and 2XL, now we have M and L as well), AND the long-sleeve shirts are now available in the very popular STONEWASHED GREEN, as well as the previous stonewashed blue.

    All the new wearable merch stuff can be found HERE at the Wonky Records Store.

    That's it for now, we'll be talking soon about some upcoming shows in October in the Seattle/Tacoma area. Thanks again for all the great comments!
    4:06 PM Comment at the .Forum


    Previous Recent Entries
    Current .Blog
    Newest Entry
    Older Entries


    Old School .Blog
    July 2004
    June 2004
    May 2004
    April 2004
    March 2004
    February 2004
    January 2004
    December 2003
    November 2003
    October 2003
    September 2003
    August 2003
    July 2003
    June 2003
    May 2003
    April 2003
    March 2003
    February 2003


    Blogalicious
    Bryan Beller
    Lefsetz
    An Altruist's Blog
    katy B skary
    Ian, enharmonic
    Darin DiPietro
    B Naz
    trocadero
    known johnson
    que sera sera
    pissshiver
    lookout for hope
    Celebrity Blogger
    Rabbit
    Kitten
    Andrew Sullivan
    Slog
    Huff Post
    Arizona Bay


    Linkonia
    Keneally Saves
    Crooked Sixpence
    TROOP!
    Salon
    Oh, You Are Sick
    Frank
    atticus wolrab
    You Rebel Scum
    Andre LaFosse
    Force Of Nature
    Bumpcity
    Lizzy Daymont
    Pete Johnston
    1 + 1 = 2
    Diaryland
    my profile
    shill for me
    contact