Wonky.Blog

Buy Yogi albums!

half-pint demigod (2005)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Salve EP (2003)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Any Raw Flesh? (2001)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Sister Sites:
HalfZaftig.com

Wonky-Records.com

MySpace

Latest Twitter Updates


    The whole Twitter feed
    22 July 2006
    Storm Clouds
    You know high on the list of Stuff I Do Not Care For, is feeling the trickle of sweat rolling down my back at nearly 9 PM as I sit here in my apartment. The sweating being because it's ungodly hot out. And I'm fifteen stories up. And there's no AC, because except for maybe 5-7 days per year (like TODAY!), you don't need it in the Pacific Northwest.

    I was just reading Darin's blog and he's over there talking about how GREAT this weather is. As if I needed any more proof that that dude is 100% certifiable. The paddy wagon was heading over with a straightjacket to pick him up, but I convinced them to wait until we finish the new HZ record. They told me that it's on MY head if Darin Kills Again.

    I can live with that action.

    I'm typing the wireless keyboard over here while the Macbook sits on the table, in the middle of importing another in my rather shockingly huge number of weird demo bits. PC and Macintosh, working together side-by-side. See, Rodney? We CAN all get along.

    Seriously, DDP. Ask my dogs (who are currently flat on their backs on the sofa, tongues hanging out) if this is GREAT WEATHER. Don't get too close when you ask 'em. They're a little snippity.

    Ugh. What else happened this week? Oh yeah, the Seattle Sonics (and by extension, my beloved Seattle Storm) were sold by the King of Starbucks to some rich hayseeds in Oklahoma. News of the sale actually reached me as I was watching a mid-day Storm game this week (which I snuck out of work to attend). So that was bad enough, and then while the entire crowd is sitting there in a depression, the Storm got the crap kicked out of them, because almost all of our best players are injured or playing hurt right now.

    I do take solace in the fact that the Storm beat the ever-lovin' SNOT out of the New York Liberty today on the road (by nearly 40 points!).

    I like sports in general. I think sports are fun to watch. I don't particularly love the NBA anymore, not really since Jordan retired have I really cared what happens in that league. The Sonics have been horribly mismanaged over the last ten years, so now they pretty much suck.

    But the Storm - I give a shit.

    Maybe it's because it's the only pro sport in town I can afford season tickets to. Maybe it's because some of our players are hot. I dunno. I've been to many an NBA game, and all I can say is that the vibe at WNBA games is completely different. Not even the same universe. I think the crowd at a Storm game much more accurately reflects the actual population of this city than does a Sonics crowd.

    The ladies on the Storm are fairly "blue-collar" for what they do. The superstar salaries max out at $90,000. Most of the players are making about $30,000. What's the average NBA benchwarmer make?

    The ladies play a team game. Maybe they do because they aren't as athletic as their male counterparts. I don't know. I've never seen a dunk in the WNBA, though there are apparently some players who have done it (usually in exhibitions, like the All Star game). They play HARD. It doesn't hurt that Seattle does happen to have some of the best female players in the world on their roster. Would I be as enthusiastic if they were, say, the New York Liberty, who have no prayer of winning just about any game they're in? Maybe not.

    Storm games are a blast. I will be pissed if they leave.

    It is still "if", for now. While there is no way the Sonics will continue to play in Seattle (the arena we have is unacceptable to the new owners), there is very real talk of a new building going up over in Bellevue.

    And even if the Sonics leave, it's possible the Storm can stay. The Sonics and Storm were purchased for $350 million.

    The going rate for WNBA teams these days is - $10 million.

    The Storm were like the free vegetable peeler thrown into this deal IF YOU ACT NOW! The new ownership doesn't care about the Storm.

    There is a lot of money in this area.

    I went to a meeting of people this morning who are going to work really hard for the next year to keep the Storm in town.

    Not worth the effort?

    Perhaps.

    But I'm gonna help out any way I can.

    Sue Bird is hot, man.

    8:54 PM Comment at the .Forum


    18 July 2006
    Movies Roundup
    Man, I'm so behind with the flicks. I don't really feel like giving all the ones I haven't blurbed in this space yet entries of their own, because frankly most of them just weren't that good. So I'll do a quick round-up to get current, then I'll collect a list of all the flicks I've seen in the first half of the year, and pick the favorites. So, to get caught up:

    The Lake House

    I went to this with my sis in LA. I have always had a crush on Sandra Bullock, and I'm glad for her success. She's funny, gorgeous and usually aquits herself well on the big screen. She also has a certain sadness about her that's very atypical of big stars of her stature. Keanu is Keanu, but the years are being kind to him. The plot of this makes almost no sense if you think about it too much, but that's not why you go see movies like this. Right?

    The Break Up

    This was totally cute, and totally forgettable. I like Vince Vaughan. Jennifer Aniston is hot. The movie - well, I don't really remember much of it.

    A Prairie Home Companion

    I almost fell asleep several times in this. And I'm an Altman fan. Woody Harrelson is a hoot with the dirty cowboy songs.

    Superman Returns

    It coulda been a contenduh. This movie is an "almost was" for me. I loved seeing Superman on the big screen again. They found a good actor to play the Big Guy. Every duck is in a row. But they gave us a lame story for the most part, especially Lex's plot. Oh well. Maybe they'll use the same people to make a real Superman movie. They did it with the X-Men franchise.

    Pirates Of The Carribean: Dead Man's Chest

    Disappointing on every level the more I think about it. I sorta had a decent time when I was watching it, but on reflection, I feel like I've been had. But you know what? I'll probably line up in a year for Part 3 to see how it shakes out.

    OK - so here's the list of 2006 flicks thus far:

    The Family Stone *$
    Brokeback Mountain *
    Munich *$
    Night Watch
    Match Point *
    The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada *
    Winter Passing
    V For Vendetta *$
    Inside Man *$
    Thank You For Smoking
    Brick *$
    The Sentinel
    American Dreamz
    United 93 *
    Friends With Money
    The Notorious Bettie Page *
    Mission Impossible 3
    Poseidon
    The Da Vinci Code
    X-Men: The Last Stand *$
    An Inconvenient Truth *$
    Cars
    Hard Candy *$
    The Lake House *
    The Break Up
    A Prairie Home Companion
    Superman Returns *
    POTC: Dead Man's Chest

    A (*) indicates a movie I'd recommend to someone else. A ($) indicates a movie that I plan to buy on DVD when it's available (some of them are already out.

    So that's it for movies for the first half of 2006. And I am once again caught up.

    3:49 PM Comment at the .Forum


    08 July 2006
    Firsts
    Many firsts of late. I got my very first ever laptop the other week, and it also happens to be my first ever Apple computer. Even though I spent a lot of time in grade schools typing BASIC instructions into Apple II's and Apple IIe's, I've never actually owned an Apple anything. I make a living programming Microsoft products for companies, so I generally have always had Windows machines at home. I'm pretty agnostic when it comes to technology, so I don't get involved in the "which one's better" debate.

    I am loving my Macbook, though.

    I finally broke down and got a Mac because I wanted to get some kind of Pro Tools setup going at home - Pro Tools being the audio software that Darin has been recording my stuff with since mid-2001. While DDP originally started using Pro Tools on his old PC, at some point he picked up an iMac, then a full-blown G5 box. And now he's turned - he'll never go back to PC's. Part of the appeal of having Pro Tools for me is having access to the work we do at his studio when I'm not there - and since my hard drive full of music files is Mac-formatted, I decided that no boat-rocking would be necessary, and that it was time to finally grit my teeth and shell out the not-unsubstantial cash required when one wants a Mac.

    It's a beautiful device, and so far, so good - it's running Pro Tools wonderfully. Hopefully my tinkering won't create any new headaches for Darin when we head back down his way for sessions at the end of next week.

    As usually happens when I switch my home recording platform, I'm now in a manic phase of archiving my old stuff. One of the biggest appeals to getting my own setup is that now I can finally get ALL of my recordings (some dating back to live cassette dubs from 1985-86) into ONE format, and thus easily accessible. For those that enjoy the music I do, that means that pretty soon, the various Web sites are going to be inundated with lots of free content - all kinds of bits and songs and demos that I would never charge anyone for, but that they might enjoy listening to anyway.

    But for that to happen, I need to get back to work.

    I meant to write more about the LA trip a couple of weeks ago. I saw Mike Keneally and his band at the fabled Baked Potato while I was there, and it was a great time. My bro-in-law who had never seen the MKB play tagged along, and I think he had a fun time. I know I had a blast.

    I've seen like four movies that I need to say something about, and I suppose I will. None of them were that spectacular, really - I think the list is The Lake House, The Break Up, A Prairie Home Companion, and Superman Returns. I might be able to sneak away and see the new Pirates movie this weekend - but then again, I might not have time. Something tells me it will still be in theaters next week. Or the week after.

    11:13 AM Comment at the .Forum


    Previous Recent Entries
    Current .Blog
    Newest Entry
    Older Entries


    Old School .Blog
    July 2004
    June 2004
    May 2004
    April 2004
    March 2004
    February 2004
    January 2004
    December 2003
    November 2003
    October 2003
    September 2003
    August 2003
    July 2003
    June 2003
    May 2003
    April 2003
    March 2003
    February 2003


    Blogalicious
    Bryan Beller
    Lefsetz
    An Altruist's Blog
    katy B skary
    Ian, enharmonic
    Darin DiPietro
    B Naz
    trocadero
    known johnson
    que sera sera
    pissshiver
    lookout for hope
    Celebrity Blogger
    Rabbit
    Kitten
    Andrew Sullivan
    Slog
    Huff Post
    Arizona Bay


    Linkonia
    Keneally Saves
    Crooked Sixpence
    TROOP!
    Salon
    Oh, You Are Sick
    Frank
    atticus wolrab
    You Rebel Scum
    Andre LaFosse
    Force Of Nature
    Bumpcity
    Lizzy Daymont
    Pete Johnston
    1 + 1 = 2
    Diaryland
    my profile
    shill for me
    contact