Wonky.Blog

Buy Yogi albums!

half-pint demigod (2005)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Salve EP (2003)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Any Raw Flesh? (2001)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Sister Sites:
HalfZaftig.com

Wonky-Records.com

MySpace

Latest Twitter Updates


    The whole Twitter feed
    29 April 2006
    Movies - The Sentinel
    I saw this last week with my Dad. It was a completely fine way to spend two hours, but sitting here today, about a week later, I can remember very little about it. We all called it "The Jack Bauer movie", even if the lead is Michael Douglas. It's a competent "The Wrong Man" exercise (I've been watching the Alfred Hitchcock box set Beta Girl gave me for Christmas), though there's nothing all that spectacular about it. Kim Basinger is hotter than ever now that she's older. Eva Longoria barely registers. It's not hard to figure out who the bad guy is. I had a fun afternoon with my Dad and stepmom. And there's nothing else to say about that.

    * * *

    I think later today I may go sit through United 93. I'm not sure how that one's going to play.

    10:36 AM Comment at the .Forum


    28 April 2006
    In Absentia
    I've just been absent from these parts, huh? Last week I had a good excuse because I was out of town, and not always in possession of access to yon Internets. This week has been dominated with getting acclimated to the work-a-day lifestyle once again - started the new gig on Tuesday. Have barely been able to do anything useful there thus far, though I've not yet been asked to be useful. I'd say the offices are nice and all that, but then after next week we're moving to the building next door - so who knows what I will think of the new digs. I do like being in downtown Bellevue as opposed to sort of off to the side of downtown where my last job was. I can take the bus to where I work now - something I haven't yet really worked out yet. I need to get a bus pass.

    So, sigh. Back to working. It's hard to go back when you've been off, as I'm sure most of you can relate. I wish I was in the position Darin is in - he's going to bail on his job (which he absolutely detests) in the next month, and take about a year off to do things that matter to him. He can afford to do it, so I say, more power to him. I am freaking jealous.

    5:49 PM Comment at the .Forum


    14 April 2006
    Movies - Brick
    I saw this one last week - the trend lately seems to be that I watch a movie, stew on it a few days and then offer up my assessment here. I can tell you that I enjoyed every moment of Brick while I watched it. It's a peculiar type of film, and I have to wonder what kind of box office it's doing (I'm too lazy to look it up). Basically, it's a hard-boiled film noir right out of the 40's, transplanted into a present-day high school environment. No attempt is made to "modernize" the dialogue, or really, even the situations. Real high schoolers don't talk like this - or get up to what these kids get up to in the movie. I've seen some reviews of the film that are upset about this fact, and I think they're missing the point. There are barely any adults in the movie, and the ones that are there are mostly there for comic relief (one vice principal excluded). It's literally like the director filmed one of those old Humphrey Bogart "private dick" movies with high school kids - and to me, at least, it really works. I only recognized one actor, and that's Lukas Haas, who I remember as the tiny Amish kid in Witness - he still looks pretty much the same, only grown-up. So it's a first-time director with mostly unknown actors, doing something pretty audacious and, alright, odd. That's cool with me. I dug it.
    4:49 PM Comment at the .Forum


    12 April 2006
    Sweet Relief
    I got a new job offer today. Of course I took it, duh. So, my experience continues: the last few jobs, it took me about a week of dealing with recruiters and doing phone screens and in-person interviews to get to the point where I did well enough for someone to offer me a position.

    Of course, I'd forgotten what an anxiety-ridden, depressing, sometimes soul-crushing week it can be - I was pretty much a morose wreck all weekend, and I spent all day in the apartment yesterday with the shades drawn, splayed on the sofa with the pups napping in my lap, watching Season 4 of Angel (a brooding show if there ever was one).

    Of course, I realize how lucky I am. My search lasted a whole week - and there are people in this country who endure this for months without getting a bite. I'm grateful. And I'm getting a raise! Can't beat that. I start in a couple of weeks. For those of you interested in how that impacts the musical productivity, and more specifically the budget for the new Half Zaftig album, it looks to me that come June we'll be able to make our last tracking push and be mixing by mid-July. So... release sometime in September-ish? That's still summer, right? I said summer for the new album, that's makeable.

    WHOOOSH. That is the sound of this big dope finally relaxing and feeling good about the forseeable future again. I was having nightmares about sleeping in dumpsters - ridiculous, I know. Maybe now I can go back to having no dreams at all.

    You know, that Angel was a really good show in it's own right, once you get halfway into Season 1. As soon as Wesley Windham-Price shows up, everything came together. Good stuff.

    I am loving the new Flaming Lips album. I've never bought any of their stuff before, but since they were getting so much press for this new one, and they'd been on my "To Check Out" list for so long, I finally bought the new album without hearing a note of it. The first track made me smile wider than any song has made me smile in many, many, moons, and the second track is almost as good. Then the record turns into a Pink Floyd album, but that's OK with me. I really, really like it. Good to know.

    3:05 PM Comment at the .Forum


    09 April 2006
    You Need To Get Out More
    Found this link to a video of Frank Zappa appearing on the TV program Crossfire back in 1986 today. He sure was one-of-a-kind.
    2:33 PM Comment at the .Forum


    06 April 2006
    Interviewing For Jobs, Or The 9th Circle Of Hell
    After updating my resume on Monster Tuesday, I've been inundated with calls from recruiters for the last two days. Today I had my first scheduled telephone screenings with some people who might be interested in hiring me. Tomorrow I have a face-to-face interview scheduled, and another phone screener in the afternoon. This is how it works in the software contracting biz - someone will call you and grill you for 30 minutes to an hour on technical stuff, to see if you're on the ball enough to bring in for a face-to-face. Or not. I've actually been hired before after a 20-minute phone screen; that particular time I had thought I had done horribly, but they made me an offer. My guess: they were desperate. Not that I wasn't able to do the job they wanted.

    Which brings me back to all this interviewing crap: there's not one software job I've ever interviewed for that I thought I could not do the work involved. The main reason for that is I get to see the job descriptions before I speak to anyone, and I don't bother talking to people for jobs I don't think I know enough to do, even if they want to speak to me based on the resume.

    I hate interviewing. I hate having to pretend I really care about these projects, or even this work. The truth is: the first person that doesn't seem like a complete ass that will pay my rate, who doesn't work in an office where the commute would be unreasonable, I'm gonna take the gig. I do this for a living. I don't wanna talk about career plans. You got a job needs doing? I can help with that. Your checks don't bounce? We're good.

    I also hate being asked irrelevant questions. They are usually on "technical" topics, when they're trying to get me to prove I know what I say I know. I'm sympathetic - they don't want some total rube coming in, but that's the nice thing about hiring a contract worker: they'll know very soon if I suck, and if I do, they can fire me, no questions asked. But anyway, the inane questions. Here's the thing - knowing how to get work done, but not necessarily knowing the exact technical details behind what you're doing is the state that most developers I know are in. Some of them, yes, they are really "into" this stuff, so they read books about coding for fun, and so they know all about the where's, the what's, and the why-for's. I don't really give a shit, because the simple truth is, learning that stuff has never helped me get my work done. If I need to know that stuff, I do what every other developer I've ever worked with does: I hit Google, and I look it up. There is so much to know about software development, and so much of it changes so fast, that there's an awful lot of information out there that I keep on a "need to know" basis.

    I also hate "resume miners." These are people that REALLY carefully go over every nuance of your resume, looking for things that don't match up. My resume has gotten so long that I've started leaving off a lot of my older work experience, because frankly most of that stuff isn't relevant to the jobs I do now. But there's always some joker that reads the introduction and says, "Well, you say here you've been developing for nine years, yet you only have epxerience listed here that goes back to 1999! What happened before then, HMMMMM?"

    Stupid asshat.

    There are some good opportunities popping up, some of which would be here in Seattle, too. I think I'll have a new gig sewn up before another week goes by. But I sure do hate this process. And what are blogs for if not to complain about petty bullshit? Right?

    SIGH. This essay in Salon struck a chord with me today.

    8:53 PM Comment at the .Forum


    06 April 2006
    Movies - Thank You For Smoking
    This is a late write-up, I saw the movie almost a week ago now. It was "cute." Sometimes laugh-out-loud funny. Not "I've got to own that on DVD" great, but worth a rental. It's not even really about smoking, rather it's about the culture of spin we live in currently (especially here in the U.S. of A.). The star of the movie, Aaron Eckhart, is one of my favorite actors working these days. There's some intangible likability vibe that he exudes that makes me really enjoy his performances. It's kinda surprising to me that he isn't a bigger "name" - if they were casting Star Wars today, he'd be my pick for Han Solo. There are some great cameos, notably Rob Lowe as a Hollywood Super-Agent, and Maria Bello, who I think should have been Oscar-nominated last year for what she did in The End Of Violence. I dunno. I had a fun time watching the flick, but sitting here a week later, there's not much about that's really memorable, other than the signature line, uttered in the trailer: You see, if you argue correctly, you're never wrong.
    8:48 PM Comment at the .Forum


    04 April 2006
    We Went To Maine, 'Cuz...
    I've been conversing off-and-on with Mike Gaito (yes, "Potato" fans, THAT Mike Gaito) via the strangely addicting phenomenon that is MySpace. Mike said recently that he would like it very much if Half Zaftig would traverse the continent from Seattle, where we live, to Vermont, where he lives, so that we could play our particular brand of teen-aged Rock N' Roll Combo-style entertainment for presumably grateful Vermonters.

    I replied that nothing would make me a happier fellow than to do that very thing - but there is the whole problem with there being a large continent between here and there - something that is increasingly expensive for an outfit such as ours to traverse. I suggested that if there only was in existence some sort of "Matter Transporter", so that we could simply "beam" ourselves over to Vermont instantly, we would be there post-haste.

    Well, Mr. Gaito went to work. Here are the RESULTS.

    7:13 PM Comment at the .Forum


    04 April 2006
    Yeah, He's The Tax Maaaaan
    Today was one of those gloriously beautiful days in Seattle that I'm so very grateful I wasn't missing out on it, stuck in a cubicle somewhere. Not that I didn't do my part today to try and get myself back into some cubicle somewhere.

    Yes, sports fans - the time has come to get off my duff and get back to bringing in some more bacon. I had been content with the idea of wiling away the month of April the same way I dispensed with March, but that all went away after I spent part of yesterday afternoon getting my corporate taxes done for Q1/06. While there, I heard them working on my personal income taxes for 2005, and they said something that made my blood run cold: methinks I have a potentially very large Tax Bill Of Death heading my way.

    I don't know this for sure yet, I haven't seen the final return. But I have a very bad feeling about this.

    So, "pop" went my brief Bubble O' Happiness and Leisure - I updated the Monster resume yesterday and today I was inundated with phone calls from recruiters. I have my first interview scheduled for Thursday, and I expect more to materialize over the next week. The good news is that I'm very in demand, at least to be talked to - and there appear to be some good gigs on THIS side of the lake, so I might be able to dispense with most of the commute. That would be sweet.

    I sure do hate interviewing, though.

    I'll spend tomorrow reviewing the areas of C# nomenclature that I know I tend to get tongue-tied about when asked to scribble them on a white board. I won't do too much cramming, though - after all, it's not that I'm trying to learn stuff I don't know, I'm trying to figure out efficient ways of explaining that I know something to someone who will know enough to catch me if I screw up.

    The big tax bill will unfortunately have a chilling effect on how much studio work I can get done on the new HZ album for the next month or so. That kinda blows. Oh well, it will give us a chance to get the final few tunes rehearsed.

    7:03 PM Comment at the .Forum


    Previous Recent Entries
    Current .Blog
    Newest Entry
    Older Entries


    Old School .Blog
    July 2004
    June 2004
    May 2004
    April 2004
    March 2004
    February 2004
    January 2004
    December 2003
    November 2003
    October 2003
    September 2003
    August 2003
    July 2003
    June 2003
    May 2003
    April 2003
    March 2003
    February 2003


    Blogalicious
    Bryan Beller
    Lefsetz
    An Altruist's Blog
    katy B skary
    Ian, enharmonic
    Darin DiPietro
    B Naz
    trocadero
    known johnson
    que sera sera
    pissshiver
    lookout for hope
    Celebrity Blogger
    Rabbit
    Kitten
    Andrew Sullivan
    Slog
    Huff Post
    Arizona Bay


    Linkonia
    Keneally Saves
    Crooked Sixpence
    TROOP!
    Salon
    Oh, You Are Sick
    Frank
    atticus wolrab
    You Rebel Scum
    Andre LaFosse
    Force Of Nature
    Bumpcity
    Lizzy Daymont
    Pete Johnston
    1 + 1 = 2
    Diaryland
    my profile
    shill for me
    contact