Wonky.Blog

Buy Yogi albums!

half-pint demigod (2005)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Salve EP (2003)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Any Raw Flesh? (2001)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Sister Sites:
HalfZaftig.com

Wonky-Records.com

MySpace

Latest Twitter Updates


    The whole Twitter feed
    31 January 2006
    That's Damn Good Coffee
    Mike Celizic says what I've been thinking about the upcoming Superbowl. And that's all I'm saying about that.

    I'd like to extend a warm welcome to the newest member of my extended family, Cooper Berube, who arrived Sunday morning, the first son of my cousin Tim and his lovely wife Robin. Coop, you aren't going to believe the cool stuff we've got for you around here. Two words for ya, little buddy: Pop Rocks.

    8:30 AM Comment at the .Forum


    29 January 2006
    A Public Service
    Because I'm sure you were waiting for it: I've posted the final running order of my yearly "fave tunes of the year" mix CD for 2005. Yes, Kanye made the cut.

    And for your entertainment, I submit the following links to you (thank you, Mike Witty). Make sure that if you watch these at work, you turn your sound up REALLY loud. Your co-workers will thank you.

    Bliss #1

    Bliss #2

    3:21 PM Comment at the .Forum


    23 January 2006
    I Hear Loud People
    A few random musings...

    Last night I took the dogs over to the Beta Apartment in the International District to watch the NFC Championship game. Their apartment is maybe 3-4 blocks away from Qwest Field, home of the Seattle Seahawks, where the game was being played. We opened the door to the balcony while we watched the game on TV - you could hear the cheering of the nearly 68,000 people at the game loud and clear. Watching a game like that was pretty unique in my sports watching experience - I've never been within earshot of the actual sporting event I was watching in real-time on television. It was a hoot. And yay, Seahawks! I'll be rooting for them in the Superbowl. I think they have an excellent shot at winning, it seems the media and public at large are already getting WAY too excited and overrating that Pittsburgh team. They're obviously good, but the Hawks have beaten a lot of good teams this year. I've got a feeling...

    We've begun getting some press reviews in for the recently-released remix record. I'll be posting those over at the Wonky Records site as they come in. I'm also working on getting some very-long-overdue commentary up about some of the previous releases in the catalog, including Salve and the Half Zaftig EP. Lizzy wrote up her own commentary for the EP, and so I'll get that posted soon as well. Pete - well, Pete doesn't like typing so much.

    I tried to go see Match Point this weekend, but it was sold out. Dang.

    Last week I found out that the entirety of the scripts for the 18-episode run of Freaks And Geeks had been released in two volumes. I got them from Amazon and am having a great old time reading them. I guess my obsession with this show is complete. I'm very interested in screenwriting, so reading these scripts over has been really fun - not only are they well-written, but it's very telling to see how what actually ended up in each show differed from what was on the page.

    Speaking of screenwriting, I downloaded Final Draft pro this weekend, too. Watch out, Charlie Kaufman.

    4:10 PM Comment at the .Forum


    17 January 2006
    Movies - Munich
    Munich is the best Spielberg movie to come along in a very long time, and it seems to be the farthest away from what one might think of as a "Spielberg Movie" that you can imagine. It reminds me most in spirit of the great politcal thrillers of the 70's, like All The President's Men. It's a tough, often brutal study of the Isreali/Palestinian conflict. Eric Bana, who is quickly becoming one of my favorite actors gives an incredible performance, and I hope he at least gets nominated for some award somewhere for it. This year's Best Actor race is going to have an awful lot of great candidates for it.

    This is a violent film. This is the kind of cinema violence I can stomach, though, because it's being used to further the story, and because it's not sensationalized. It's also a long movie, but I was engrossed for the entire running time. I'm not going to get into the politics of the movie, or all the stuff that's come up in the press about the movie, that's someone else's job. I can only say that this movie has haunted me in the weeks since I went to see it. That's the kind of movie I love the best, and the kind I can heartily recommend.

    4:50 PM Comment at the .Forum


    17 January 2006
    Apatow-Thon
    OK, I am officially out of my freaking mind. For one thing, I can't seem to get past my newfound Freaks & Geeks obsession, even though I've listened to all the DVD commentaries on all the episodes (29 of them!), read every Web site I could find containing any modicum of information about the show, etc. I even bought the super-bitchen special edition of the series, just so I could get TWO MORE DVD's full of behind-the-scenes content (which I haven't watched yet, starting that up tonight). It's a sickness, I tell you.

    So in my zeal for this show, I've been in a full-on Mission Mode to support everyone who had anything to do with making the show so great, and that's largely been manifesting as an immersion in the work of writer/producer Judd Apatow. Turns out that after F&G got pulled by NBC, he created a new present-day show about college life, in which he intended to recruit as many of the F&G actors as he could to participate. The show was called Undeclared, and was also cancelled before it made it through an entire season. The only F&G cast member who was a "regular" on Undeclared was Seth Rogen, but there are several cameos throughout the series from actors Jason Segel, Martin Starr, Samm Levine and many others that definitely brought a smile to my face. Tenacious D's Kyle Gass even had a recurring role. Undeclared isn't anywhere near as good as F&G, but it's still a high-quality show and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Then last week I picked up the DVD of The 40-Year-Old Virgin, written and directed by, you guessed it, the aforementioned Mr. Apatow. I saw the flick in the theater and enjoyed it thoroughly, but I only bought the DVD because of my current F&G mania. It's a funny movie, and actually, this movie was the first time I'd ever seen Seth Rogen in anything, and I remember he really impressed me.

    Seriously. Freaks. And. Geeks. You have got to see it if you haven't. OK, I'll shut up now.

    P.S. - now I'll sheepishly admit that the main reason I went to see Brokeback Mountain was - I found out Lindsay Weir was in it! This is truly some sort of sickness.

    4:31 PM Comment at the .Forum


    13 January 2006
    Wait, Scratch That
    Hey, a non-movie post! w00t! I've actually got quite a lot on my mind that has nothing to do with movies I've seen, but I haven't really wanted to write anything about any of that stuff here. The self-censor keeps kicking on - I guess that since I found out that many members of my family read this thing, there are certain subjects that I'm not all that thrilled to write about; my fam already thinks I'm crazy, and they aren't wrong - but I would like it best if they would continue speaking to me the few times I get to see them each year. I've been thinking a lot about starting a new, anonymous blog to be able to write about some of this stuff without anyone knowing it's me. Am I wussing out by worrying about that?

    I guess I just want to head off the "We're concerned about you" conversations that would ultimately arise if I really unloaded in writing about some of the things that I'm actually thinking about. The problem, of course becomes that the more I censor myself here, the less interesting the .Blog is to read (which you've undoubtedly already figured out). My favorite blogs tend to be the ones that are the bravest, the most honest, and sometimes even the most shocking. None of those terms really apply to what I've been writing here, and it bums me out a little.

    In any event, I still owe another movie post, for Munich. I'll try and be briefer with it - the last two movie posts got a little long, and I don't really want to make these things into "reviews." I'm grumbling up here that I still have nowhere in Seattle to go see Match Point or The New World, and actually I don't think there's anything I want to see this weekend.

    I won't be watching the Hawks/Redskins game this weekend - too many conflicting feelings about that one. I think the Hawks will win, but I'm rooting for Joe Gibbs.

    3:59 PM Comment at the .Forum


    11 January 2006
    Movies - Brokeback Mountain
    Hoo boy. This is one of those "important" movies, where the story in the press about the movie is overshadowing what's actually onscreen. I've tried really hard to avoid reading all that stuff - I'm a fan of stories well-told on celluloid, and I like to think of myself as an open-minded viewer. I will admit that as a straight guy, hearing that Brokeback Mountain was a "gay cowboy movie" didn't really produce an overwhelming desire in me to run out and see the film. But there are lots of films I've loved that, if you had broken down their premises to a two or three-word phrase, wouldn't necessarily have piqued my interest. This movie is a tragic love story. Now, if no one had ever said or written the words "gay cowboys" and had simply said "tragic love story", that alone still wouldn't have made me all that interested - what I wanted to know is, is it a good movie? I've been a fan of several of Ang Lee's films in the past, but more than anything the overwhelming critical praise of the flick is what made me interested in it. NOT all the political posturing that's going on. So I went.

    It is a good movie. It's very sad. Heath Ledger gives a performance that I wouldn't have previously guessed he had in him. It's better than what Philip Seymour Hoffman did in Capote, and I had believed before this that PSH was going to run away with the Oscar this year, but now I don't know.

    The movie is beautiful to look at. There's no beating the scenery in the American West. Yes, there are a couple of scenes of man-on-man action, but it's all dark and murky and nobody is naked. I've seen far more explicit stuff in episodes of Six Feet Under or OZ on HBO. Frankly, there are far more scenes of heterosexual goings-on between these guys and their wives - straight guys will be happy to hear that Anne Hathaway looks incredible without her shirt on. Young boys everywhere will be freeze-framing that scene on the DVD for years to come. Ah, technology.

    This is a movie about two men who love each other, but can't be together, because of the times, because of the circumstances. But the movie isn't just about these two guys carrying torches for each other - it's also about the other people in their lives who get hurt as a result of their choices. Both of the guys marry women, both of them have children with their wives, even as they carry on with their relationship with each other by getting together a couple of times per year for "hunting trips." Their families are portrayed with compassion, too. It's no picnic for anyone involved. The story doesn't have a happy ending, and how could it? As much as the two men love their families and children, those relationships are based at worst on lies, and at best on settling. And that is a true tragedy.

    I can't say I'm in a wild hurry to see this film again (Anne Hathaway's charms be damned), but I'm glad I saw it once.

    4:14 PM Comment at the .Forum


    09 January 2006
    Movies - The Family Stone
    The first movie I saw this year was The Family Stone. The reviews out there in the ether for this one are all over the map: some call it treacly emotionally-manipulative crap, some are calling it a great holiday movie with a big heart. I say, it's both. I never know how movies like this are going to hit me - sometimes I love 'em, sometimes I hate 'em. The very thing that makes me dismiss one movie will be the very thing that causes me to love another. I don't usually seek flicks like this out - but my Mom wanted to go, and I wanted to go with her. I'm glad that I did. This movie has a great cast, which immeasurably helps with the cheese factor - especially the inclusion of future-Mrs. Wonky Rachel McAdams. This is the kind of movie where every single character in it that is unattached at the beginning of the movie is attached by the end - and is seemingly on the happily-ever-after track. Like I said, this is the kind of thing that would really drive me crazy in some films. There are lots of gross character stereotypes on display (the tree-hugger sister actually has an NPR bookbag, and drives a Volvo). It would be completely and totally fair to take potshots at stuff like this.

    There's also an important (and sad) underlying plot point that could be construed as something little better than your garden-variety Movie-Of-The-Week bit: but the movie disarms by playing the interactions that arise from it completely honestly, and often in a touching manner. Yes, most of the plot stuff is completely telegraphed and guessable - but the actors uniformly believe it, and frankly, that allows me to let that stuff slide. You like these people in this family, and you start rooting for them. The Family Stone is often really funny, as well - and while you've probably seen some of the really slapsticky stuff in the trailer, it's not really that kind of film. Movies like this that work, work for a reason. This one works. I laughed, I cried, and I didn't feel used at the end. It's a great holiday film, and while I probably wouldn't buy the DVD of it, I wouldn't mind seeing it again. Especially with a group of people I care about, around the holidays.

    3:05 PM Comment at the .Forum


    09 January 2006
    Aught-Six
    Back home and back "in the groove", whatever that actually entails. Back at work, for at least another couple of weeks. I spent almost this entire last weekend doing a lot of NOTHING, sitting on the sofa with the two pups, watching Christmas DVDs. It's official: Freaks & Geeks is my favorite TV show of all time. The 14-year-old high school version of me is totally in love with Lindsay Weir, the "heroine" of the show. She's just the kind of girl I would have flipped for back then, though I would have acted on that infatuation by completely avoiding her at all costs and being unable to handle a conversation with her for more than 5 seconds before my head exploded.

    You know, sort of how I relate to the ladies now.

    Band rehearsals are gearing up again this week. I am really looking forward to playing with Pete and Lizzy again. I miss the band when we're not doing anything. We'll be polishing up the set list for the gig at The Central on the 6th.

    I'm going to start up a .Blog experiment for 2006: I'm going to make an individual post for every film I see in theaters this year. It may not be a full-blown "review", since I don't even know how qualified I am to write "reviews", but it will at least be a couple of lines, along with a three-tiered "judgement", relating to whether or not I'd want to buy the DVD when it's available. So the movies will either be Keepers, Renters, or a Wouldn't Watch It Again. I guess I should think of a snappier one-word version of that last thing, huh?

    I've seen three films so far in the theater in 2006, so I'll start off this little experiment with three posts for those, to follow later this afternoon. And I'll try to make the posts on the same day I actually see the movie, unlike these first three (though the most recent of the three films I saw yesterday). I'm doing this mostly for myself, to sort of catalog how many flicks I get out to, and just to be able to read through the year in movies come next December and remind myself of what I loved. I still catch a lot of flicks (especially in comparison to the "average" consumer, I'll bet), but I've definitely cut back in recent years. I no longer see everything.

    2:22 PM Comment at the .Forum


    Previous Recent Entries
    Current .Blog
    Newest Entry
    Older Entries


    Old School .Blog
    July 2004
    June 2004
    May 2004
    April 2004
    March 2004
    February 2004
    January 2004
    December 2003
    November 2003
    October 2003
    September 2003
    August 2003
    July 2003
    June 2003
    May 2003
    April 2003
    March 2003
    February 2003


    Blogalicious
    Bryan Beller
    Lefsetz
    An Altruist's Blog
    katy B skary
    Ian, enharmonic
    Darin DiPietro
    B Naz
    trocadero
    known johnson
    que sera sera
    pissshiver
    lookout for hope
    Celebrity Blogger
    Rabbit
    Kitten
    Andrew Sullivan
    Slog
    Huff Post
    Arizona Bay


    Linkonia
    Keneally Saves
    Crooked Sixpence
    TROOP!
    Salon
    Oh, You Are Sick
    Frank
    atticus wolrab
    You Rebel Scum
    Andre LaFosse
    Force Of Nature
    Bumpcity
    Lizzy Daymont
    Pete Johnston
    1 + 1 = 2
    Diaryland
    my profile
    shill for me
    contact