Wonky.Blog

Buy Yogi albums!

half-pint demigod (2005)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Salve EP (2003)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Any Raw Flesh? (2001)
at the Wonky Store
at Amazon.com
at CDBaby.com


Sister Sites:
HalfZaftig.com

Wonky-Records.com

MySpace

Latest Twitter Updates


    The whole Twitter feed
    27 January 2005
    half-pint demigod
    For those who don't participate in the .Forum, I thought I'd let you know that I just posted an MP3 clip of moments from the now-finished and coming-sometime-in-2005-but-I-don't-know-when remix album, half-pint demigod. Have at it, and let me know what you think.
    10:24 PM Comment at the .Forum


    27 January 2005
    How Hippies Can Be Liars
    Operating today with my second head cold of the season. And I've even been taking vitamins, and going to the gym! I've even been taking this "wellness" supplement that the cute hippie lady at the vitamin store said I should take so I won't get sick! All for naught. Everyone in near-proximity to me at work has been hacking up their innards over the last couple of weeks, and I suppose my new habit of taking public transportation on a daily basis probably isn't helping.

    But the hippie lady said I wouldn't get sick! And she was so cute I believed her!

    Dang it.

    3:24 PM Comment at the .Forum


    25 January 2005
    Oscar Reflections
    Alrighty then, the Oscar nominations for this year's Hollywood Popularity Contest are in, and being the movie freak that I am, I thought I'd chime in with some thoughts on the who and what.

    Best Picture: My two favorite movies of the year, Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind and Before Sunset weren't nominated. Of the five nominated films, I've not seen Ray (no interest) nor Finding Neverland. I will be seeing the latter soon when it comes to the little local theater in North Bend in a couple of weeks. Of the nominees that I did see, Million Dollar Baby is clearly the best. I hope it wins.

    Best Director: Didn't see Vera Drake, either. The Aviator is a good flick, and there are some truly breathtaking moments - it feels to me like this is Scorsese's year, based more on his past work than his current film. Comparing what he did to what Eastwood did is comparing apples and oranges. If I had to pick one of these flicks to see again, MDB wins easily, but The Aviator is worthy.

    Best Actor: Of the three nominated performances I've seen so far, I have to give the edge to Eastwood. Even though his role in MDB hews pretty close to his "loveable curmudgeon" type, I have to say there are moments toward the end of the film that are unlike anything I've ever seen him do. Leo is great in The Aviator, but he's got a long career ahead of him. Cheadle is great in Hotel Rwanda, and I hear Jamie Foxx is good in Ray. Still, for my money, none of these performances hold a candle to Jim Carrey's in ESOTSM - for which I feel he was unjustly denied a nomination. Unfortunately, he's still got that "clown" reputation, and they don't give Oscars to guys like that until they are 90 and on their deathbed. It's sort of like how so many people can't accept that Steve Vai is real artist because he once played in Whitesnake. Too bad, because Carrey's was the performance of the year.

    Best Actress: Bad me, I've only seen two of the nominated performances, but I can't imagine wanting anyone to win more than Kate Winslet for ESOTSM. She only created one of the most startlingly real and heartbreaking characters I've ever seen on a movie screen. She'll never win, but there's no one who was better - he says, without having seen most of her competition (Hilary Swank is very deserving for her work in MDB, though - and I don't say that just because I find her bizarrely attractive).

    Best Supporting Actor: Whoa, I've seen all of these! Jamie Foxx was probably my favorite of these, maybe because Clive Owen played a completely irredeemable bastard in Closer (one of my favorites of the year). Foxx will probably not win either of the awards he is nominated for, but it must be cool to get nominated as Best and Best Supporting Actor the same year. My guess is that Thomas Hayden Church will win for Sideways, but honestly to me, his is the weakest performance in this field. I liked the movie, but I think it is severely overrated, and I never believed in THC's character for one minute. He seems like caricature from the first frame you see him in. I'm gonna pull for Foxx or Owen in this.

    Best Supporting Actress: Ooh, I saw all these, too! Everyone's gonna pull for Cate Blanchett because she does one of those "transformations" into a famous person most of us remember well... not that she wasn't good, but I feel like that's something of a cheat. Laura Linney was really good in Kinsey (Liam Neeson was robbed for his work in that), as was Virginia Madsen, who I feel gave the best performance in Sideways. And then Natalie. Ah, Natalie, who inspires such naughty thoughts. She was really great, and she is wicked hot, and I'm probably rooting for her, even though she wasn't the best. Sophie Okonedo was just fine in her role, but I don't recall being blown away by anything she did. If there's justice, Virginia Madsen gets this one.

    Best Adapted Screenplay: I just want Before Sunset to win something.

    Best Original Screenplay: Man, The Incredibles is a great film, but come on - ESOTSM is only one of the greatest films I've ever seen, and it starts with the brilliant script. It won't win (probably The Aviator will), but that don't make it right!

    Nobody cares about the rest of them, right?

    12:59 PM Comment at the .Forum


    24 January 2005
    I'm Hatin' It
    I love caramel apples!

    Don't panic, I'm not going to suddenly start posting pics of airbrushed babes in various states of undress around here... not that there's anything wrong with that! A week or so back I got a mail from old buddy Chris G that informed me that our old band crush Teri Hatcher was on the cover of a magazine called FHM this month, and looking fetching. Well, I googled the images, of which the one you see here is only one, and I must say, Teri does indeed look fabulous. I don't watch much TV (The Daily Show and Carnivale are about all I'm watching these days), and so I've not seen Ms. Hatcher's hit new show, Desperate Housewives. All I can say is that I am pleased as punch that Teri is no longer reduced to doing bad Radio Shack commercials with Howie Long. Ten years ago, she was riding high on ABC's Lois and Clark, and more importantly, the inspiration for my song "My Love For Lois Is Real" - that's her voice you hear sprinkled like fairy dust throughout the song. I'm glad to see her make a comeback - and she's single! Maybe she'd be in the "Lois" video?

    I said it would get done, and it is in fact finished - the master of half-pint demigod was completed Saturday afternoon. Look for a clip or clips soon.

    I had occasion to be inside of a McDonald's this weekend, a rare event for me, I'm pleased to report. I noticed that in almost all propaganda posted all over the store, McD's is using colloquial English. Perhaps this stems from their current excreble slogan, I'm Lovin' It. On the menu, a heading read, "What are you havin'?" By the cash register, a sign whose purpose it was to inform customers whether or not credit/debit cards were accepted announced, "Yep, We Take 'Em!" Another example: "We're Makin' 'Em Fresh!"

    SIGH. Am I alone in feeling patronized?

    2:30 PM Comment at the .Forum


    20 January 2005
    L'il Dynamo-Hum
    Man, Ani DiFranco has yet another new album out. Sheesh. She needs to bottle whatever it is that drives her prolificacy - I know I'd buy it. In mass quantities.
    4:19 PM Comment at the .Forum


    19 January 2005
    Time Is Here Today
    Best-laid plans really do eventually come together. Sometimes. Patience may be required, sometimes months and years of it, but I'm learning to accept that, barring Act Of God-like catastrophes that cannot be planned for, things tend to happen when they are supposed to.

    Lots of old loose ends are starting to get tied up around here... and as a result movement on the artistic front will once again be visible. Even if one had pointed a time-lapse camera on my recent artistic movements for the last several months, I'm afraid the resulting film would pretty much look like a still image. But that won't stay true in coming months.

    This Saturday, Darin DiPietro and I will finally, FINALLY lock down the master for half-pint demigod, the album of Any Raw Flesh? remixes that Andre LaFosse delivered to me (choke) almost three years ago. I make it sound like we've been toiling over it for those three years... that's not so. In fact, it was just last week that I called Darin about getting the job done, and the work on it has been a breeze. The album sounds terrific, and I am reminded forcefully all over again why I was really excited about Andre's work on the remixes in the first place. It's a great album. I can guarantee you that it will see release sometime in 2005. Right now its release date is contingent on when the debut Half Zaftig album gets done and put out there - but if for some current unforeseen reason that project gets delayed, this may not remain the case. Andre himself told me last year that he thought a new album of new material should be my main priority, and right now, it is. So we shall see what happens. But half-pint demigod will come out in 2005. That's all I'm saying. I'll put up a medley of clips once the master is finished, and I'm gonna dig out and re-post the recordings of conversations that Andre and I had and posted back (in 2001!) when he was in the thick of his work on the remixes.

    I do that thing, too, where I talk about how I'm gonna update content on the Web sites, and then I don't do it. Huh.

    All in good time.

    3:10 PM Comment at the .Forum


    10 January 2005
    Of Celluloid And Death Metal
    It's Oscar Movie Season! At last, most of the big "dramatic" movies that opened for a week in December in New York and Los Angeles are now playing somewhere around here (most of those are in Seattle theaters, though). I'm feeling a need to get caught up. Yesterday I came into town to catch Jeunet's new film, A Very Long Engagement, and I must say it was well worth the trip. I hope that Delicatessen makes it to DVD soon. I would've thought it would be out in the US by now.

    I think today is the day I go check out Clint Eastwood's Million Dollar Baby. Though I'm worried, critics in 2003 slavered all over themselves praising Clint's Mystic River and I thought that one was only... OK. So I hope this one isn't too overhyped. Apparently Morgan Freeman is doing his "benevolent narrator" thing again, and how can you go wrong with that?

    This year's mix disc is done, and I like it, maybe as much as any of them since I first started in 2001 (that year's disc remains my favorite that I've made). I need to type up my yearly liner notes for it and post them somewhere like in past years. Maybe later tonight.

    I've been listening a lot in the last few days to Meshuggah's new, uh, EP, er... song? Well, it's a 21-minute track called I (pronounced EYE), and it's just... well, it's more Meshuggah, that's what it is. If you like what they do, you'll like it. Just astonishing virtuosity. There's some drumming which I'm just trying to wrap my head around on there - let alone appreciate. Did you know the guys in Meshuggah play custom 8-string guitars? Now you know.

    This is just one of the reasons (can you guess the other three?) that Peter Jackson is my favorite filmmaker in the world these days. So. Freaking. Cool. You might need to carve out some time to watch all that stuff. But it's awesome.

    3:47 PM Comment at the .Forum


    01 January 2005
    Resolutionary
    January is here again, yeppity-yep, and - steeped in Western culture as I am, it is my wont to start thinking in terms of "new beginnings" and "taking stock of the year just passed" and blah, blah, woof-woof. We're very results-driven in 2005, aren't we? We organize all of our hopes, dreams, and responsibilities into little grids of 30 or 31 days apiece (get down to the calendar store at the mall - those suckers will be marked down like 75% or so as of this morning), and then judge ourselves after a year has gone by, based on how many of our plans we've achieved successfully. If you look at it that way, and try as you might to distance yourself from that sort of thinking, you might find a rueful smile on your face - I mean, really. It all looks like a desperate quest for meaning, doesn't it? And yet, here I am, completely caught up in the cycle I've just described, even if I can objectively see that it really means nothing in the long run.

    I finally felt mortal in 2004. I became aware, truly aware for the first time, that I come with an expiration date. And I also became aware that I don't take that knowledge very well - in fact, it scared the ever-loving shit out of me. The implications of this discovery (which feels so new and all-fired important, when of course it's exactly neither of those things) are still being sorted out. The question that comes to me more often than any other lately is: am I making the best use of my time?

    I can feel that 2005 is going to be about trying to get at the answer to that.

    Random Musings, Part 1 - Joyful Abandon

    As I've written previously, I've been riding public transportation to work since September. I like riding the bus - even if it's not always the fastest transportation solution. I'm coming out of a long period of time where I preferred to be "away from people," and so just sitting on a crowded bus with a bunch of strangers makes me feel like I'm being more social. The other day the bus I was on pulled up to the Eastlake Park and Ride, and out the window I saw a tall, burly, bushy-haired guy waiting to get on. He wore a heavy winter coat, and a pair of headphones that was attached to the CD player he held in his left hand. Also in his left hand were a couple of jewel cases, presumably belonging to the CD's he was listening to. The only reason he attracted my attention at all was his total and unabashed joyful enjoyment of whatever music he was listening to. Both arms jutted out from his sides, and his whole body rocked back and forth, in what looked like a combination of "conducting" whatever song he was listening to, along with good old-fashioned Wayne N' Garth-inspired headbanging. He had a beautific grin plastered on his face, and his mop of bushy hair flopped around wildly.

    He was, frankly, making a spectacle of himself.

    And when the bus stopped, he leaped aboard, and still swaying, and smiling, and occasionally air-drumming, made his way down the bus aisle, until he stopped and sat directly in front of me.

    For the next 15 minutes or so, until we reached my stop, Happy Man continued his exuberant enjoyment. I got a look at the cover of one of the jewel cases in his left hand, it was the Beatles Beatles For Sale. I don't know if that's what he was actually listening to or not. I looked around the bus and noticed other passengers pretending not to notice this display. Of course, I had been doing exactly the same thing, but I actually started to admire Happy Man - he was having himself a blissful experience, and he didn't care who noticed. I got really mad when we were stopped at a light, and I looked out the window at an adjacent car full of high-school kids. Happy Man was so demonstrative that he had gotten the attention of these kids, and they were pointing and laughing and mocking the way teen-agers do. Happy Man himself finally saw the kids, and you know what? He turned it up. He banged his head even harder, smiled wider, and even as the teenagers made their mocking "air-guitar" and goat-throwing gestures at him, Happy Man returned everything they did back at them, with even more intensity.

    Happy Man got off where I did, but he was waiting for another bus while I went to my car. As I drove off, I saw him waiting there at the depot, hands raised up, dancing and smiling to what was clearly the best song he had ever heard.

    Keep rocking, Happy Man.

    Random Musings, Part 2 - Happy Carnivores

    Beta Girl asked me to mention the meal she made for us last night, featuring the most incredible beef tenderloin recipe I've ever tasted along with salad, and cheesy potatoes, and rolls. Oh, and let me not forget the incredible horseradish sauce for the meat. That was probably the best meal I had all year. Thank you, Beta Girl!

    Random Musings, Part 3 - Job Insecurity

    Ah, the life of the contractor.

    The company I've been working for hired me for a certain project back in August. When I reported for work in September, they put me on a different project altogether, which just released on the 18th of December.

    They've now informed me that the original project that they hired me for has now been cancelled. There may be some work for me there for the next couple of weeks (but maybe not), but it's certain that my contract will end sooner than the original end date, which was April 28th.

    Oh well. Here we go again.

    11:19 AM Comment at the .Forum


    Previous Recent Entries
    Current .Blog
    Newest Entry
    Older Entries


    Old School .Blog
    July 2004
    June 2004
    May 2004
    April 2004
    March 2004
    February 2004
    January 2004
    December 2003
    November 2003
    October 2003
    September 2003
    August 2003
    July 2003
    June 2003
    May 2003
    April 2003
    March 2003
    February 2003


    Blogalicious
    Bryan Beller
    Lefsetz
    An Altruist's Blog
    katy B skary
    Ian, enharmonic
    Darin DiPietro
    B Naz
    trocadero
    known johnson
    que sera sera
    pissshiver
    lookout for hope
    Celebrity Blogger
    Rabbit
    Kitten
    Andrew Sullivan
    Slog
    Huff Post
    Arizona Bay


    Linkonia
    Keneally Saves
    Crooked Sixpence
    TROOP!
    Salon
    Oh, You Are Sick
    Frank
    atticus wolrab
    You Rebel Scum
    Andre LaFosse
    Force Of Nature
    Bumpcity
    Lizzy Daymont
    Pete Johnston
    1 + 1 = 2
    Diaryland
    my profile
    shill for me
    contact